top of page

Planetary Ownership in Vedic Astrology

The Initial Five Planets- Mars, Venus, Mercury, Jupiter and Saturn, the Moon "Earth's natural satellite", and the Sun a "dynamic dwarf star" signify the Twelve Astrological Signs. In Vedic Astrology, due to visibility of the initial planets being seen with the bare eye, they appear as star-type figures with movement relative to stars and were given the term wandering stars by the Ancients. The term planet is derived from Greek planetes meaning wanderer.

1. Astrological Sign- Aries, Planet- Mars

2. Astrological Sign- Taurus, Planet- Venus

3. Astrological Sign- Gemini, Planet- Mercury

4. Astrological Sign- Cancer, The Moon/Chandra

5. Astrological Sign- Leo, The Sun/Surya

6. Astrological Sign- Virgo, Planet- Mercury

7. Astrological Sign- Libra, Planet- Venus

8. Astrological Sign- Scorpio, Planet- Mars

9. Astrological Sign- Sagittarius, Planet- Jupiter

10. Astrological Sign- Capricorn, Planet- Saturn

11. Astrological Sign- Aquarius, Planet- Saturn

12. Astrological Sign- Pisces, Planet- Jupiter

Additional Information: In Western, Tropical Astrology the Planets- Mars, Venus, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and the dwarf planet Pluto are factors along with the Sun, a dwarf star and the Moon, Earth's natural satellite that signify the Twelve Astrological Signs, Astrology Resource.

Article's Audio


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page